There are six members of the NAPD Fund for Justice Board of Directors and three Officers filling five positions. All have devoted their careers to advancing the right to counsel for those accused of a crime and those convicted of a crime.

Jim Bethke
Board Member and Board Secretary

Attorney, Lubbock Private Defenders Office, Lubbock, TX, a 501(c) non-profit corporation; former Director of the Texas Indigent Defense Commission, General Counsel. Texas Municipal Courts Education Center, Lubbock city prosecutor.

Cait Clarke
Board Member

Attorney and Chief of the Defender Services Office in the Administrative Office of US Courts, Washington, DC; formerly staff at the National Legal Aid & Defender Association and director of federal programs at Equal Justice Works. Cait was a law professor at Loyola Law School, New Orleans, before earning her doctorate of law (SJD degree) at Harvard Law School. While at Harvard, she taught at the John F. Kennedy School of Government in the Program in Criminal Justice, Policy and Management and ran the “Executive Session on Public Defense” to explore improvements to the Sixth Amendment right to counsel, which was funded by the U.S. Department of Justice, Bureau of Justice Assistance. Cait was also the founding director of the National Defender Leadership Institute (NDLI).

Stephen F. Hanlon
Board Member

Attorney, General Counsel, National Association for Public Defense, McLean, VA; former partner at Holland and Knight; Past Chairman, The Florida Bar, Public Interest Law Section; Past President, Florida Legal Services; Past Chair of the Executive Council, American Bar Association, Individual Rights and Responsibilities Section; Past Chair, American Bar Association, Death Penalty Moratorium Implementation Project; Chair, Indigent Defense Advisory Group, Standing Committee on Legal Aid and Indigent Defense, American Bar Association.

Norman Lefstein
Board Member

Attorney,Professor of Law and Dean Emeritus Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law, Indianapolis, IN; Professor Lefstein was for 12 years a faculty member at the University of North Carolina School of Law in Chapel Hill. He also has held visiting or adjunct appointments at the law schools of Duke, Northwestern, and Georgetown. His other positions have included service as director of the Public Defender Service for the District of Columbia, an Assistant United States Attorney in D.C., and as a staff member of the Office of the Deputy Attorney General of the U.S. Department of Justice. Earlier in his career, he was in private practice in a law firm and directed a large-scale Ford Foundation research project in which legal representation was furnished to juveniles in three metropolitan cities.

Mark Stephens
Board Member

Attorney, District Defender, Knox County Public Defenders Community Law Office, Knoxville, TN; Stephens served as President of the Tennessee District Public Defender’s Conference, Chair of the Tennessee Supreme Court’s Indigent Defense Commission, and Chairman of the National Association for Public Defense. He served eight years as a member of the Board of Directors for Gideon’s Promise.

Edward C. Monahan
Executive Director & Board Member

Attorney, former Public Advocate, Kentucky Department of Public Advocacy, Frankfort, KY; KY public defender for 34 years; Director of Catholic Conference of Ky for 4 years; member of a KY  legal services board and board’s fundraising chair, chair of NLADA American Council of Chef Defenders.

Ernie Lewis
Assistant Secretary & Assistant Treasurer

Attorney, Executive Director National Association for Public Defense, former Public Advocate, Kentucky Department of Public Advocacy, Frankfort, KY; KY Association for Criminal Defense Lawyers president and lobbyist, chair of NLADA American Council of Chief Defenders.